We pledge to respond to your request within the next 24 hours.

You are a


If you see this field, please do not fill it.
  • Taille
  • Taille
  • Print this page

Business Law

Establishing your company

Taking into account certain unavoidable factors such as the importance of your capital funding, your preferences regarding teamwork and your managerial skills, your notary will provide you with a clear and simple explanation of the advantages and disadvantages of the various legal forms available to companies. He or she will inform you of aIl the possibilities you can choose from with regard to:

  • sole proprietorship;
  • different types of partnerships;
  • business corporations governed by federal law or established under Quebec law;
  • franchising;
  • other forms of companies.

You will then be in a position to make an informed choice, and you will know exactly what the legal and tax consequences of that choice are. Your notary will now be able to prepare the necessary documents for the establishment or the structural modification of your company, whether in the form of a partnership contract, a shareholder agreement or any other relevant document.

Mergers and acquisitions

Company mergers and acquisitions require special attention, since the legal, financial and tax implications of these complex transactions must be taken into consideration. As notaries, we are partners of choice when it comes to negotiating, conducting due diligence, as well as setting up financing and the legal structure required for successful company acquisitions or mergers.

Shareholder Agreements

Shareholder Agreements help avoid certain conflicts and provide for conflict resolution mechanisms. Shareholders would do well to protect their investments and their rights in case of death, incapacity or bankruptcy of a joint shareholder. Your notary can help draw up a Shareholder Agreement that is specific to your needs, allowing you to face any contingency.

Financing your company

Money is the sinews of war. Your company needs sound financial resources to ensure that it develops to its fullest potential. Backed by legal training and a firm commitment to the business community, your notary can help you develop realistic financing projects that are perfectly suited to your company.

Your notary will be able to develop an integrated financing plan and sell it to potential financial partners, taking into consideration:

  • available sources of funding (shareholder advances, opening of credit, mortgage loan, equity loan, etc.);
  • guarantees to be provided (collateral and personal guarantees);
  • assistance and grant programs, where relevant.

Throughout the entire existence of a company, financing remains a daily concern, as much at the start-up or restructuring stage as at the acquisition or expansion phase. When you reach the point of wanting to transfer your company – to the next generation or to a third party – your notary can help you negotiate and implement the relevant financial agreements.

Intergenerational transfers

Planning is the key to the successful intergenerational transfer of a company. The transfer of a company to a family member or to a key employee may have significant financial and tax implications. Your notary can guide you through the tools available to ensure an efficient transfer that takes into account the interests of each of the parties. Because each company and each family is unique, the transfer of a company requires a customized solution that allows the company founder to feel secure and ensures business continuity for the next generation.

To obtain sound advice from a notary specializing in corporate law, contact us today at 819-771-3231.

Top of page

Nous nous engageons à répondre à votre demande dans les prochaines 24 heures.

Vous êtes un(e)


Si vous voyez ce champ, veuillez ne pas le remplir.
  • Taille
  • Taille
  • Imprimer cette page

Droit des affaires

Fonder mon entreprise

Compte tenu de certains facteurs incontournables, tels que l'importance de votre mise de fonds, votre désir de travailler ou non en équipe et vos habiletés de gestionnaire, votre notaire vous expliquera clairement et simplement les avantages et les inconvénients des diverses formes juridiques qui s'offrent à l'entreprise. Ainsi, il vous renseignera sur les choix possibles en ce qui concerne :

  • l'entreprise personnelle et individuelle
  • les divers types de sociétés
  • la société par actions régie par la loi fédérale ou celle créée en vertu des lois du Québec
  • le franchisage
  • l'entreprise exploitée sous une autre forme

Vous serez alors en mesure de faire un choix éclairé et vous saurez exactement à quoi vous en tenir sur les conséquences juridiques et fiscales résultant de ce choix.  De son côté, le notaire pourra rédiger les documents nécessaires à la constitution ou à la modification de la structure de votre entreprise, qu'il s'agisse d'un contrat de société, d'une convention d'actionnaires ou de tout autre document approprié à votre situation.

Fusion et acquisition

La fusion et l’acquisition d’entreprises nécessitent une attention particulière, puisqu’il faut prendre en considération les implications légales, financières et fiscales de ces transactions complexes.  À titre de notaires, nous sommes des partenaires de choix pour la négociation, la vérification diligente ainsi que pour la mise en place du financement et de la structure juridique nécessaire à la réussite de votre acquisition ou fusion d’entreprises.

Convention entre actionnaires

La convention entre actionnaires permet d’éviter certains conflits et de prévoir à l’avance les mécanismes de résolution en cas de conflits.  Les actionnaires ont avantage à protéger leurs investissements et leurs droits en cas de décès, d’inaptitude et de faillite d’un coactionnaire.  Votre notaire peut vous aider à rédiger une convention entre actionnaires spécifique à vos besoins afin de vous préparer face à l’imprévu.

Le financement de l’entreprise

L'argent, c'est le nerf de la guerre. Votre entreprise a besoin de saines assises financières pour assurer son plein épanouissement. Grâce à sa formation juridique et à son engagement dans le milieu des affaires, votre notaire pourra participer à la conception de projets de financement réalistes et parfaitement adaptés à votre entreprise.

Votre notaire pourra élaborer et faire accepter par d'éventuels partenaires financiers un plan intégré de financement prenant en considération :

  • les sources de fonds disponibles (avances d'actionnaires, ouverture de crédit, prêt hypothécaire, prêt participatif, etc.);
  • les garanties à fournir (sûretés réelles et garanties personnelles);
  • les programmes d'aide et de subventions, le cas échéant.

Tout le long de la vie d'une entreprise, le financement demeure une préoccupation quotidienne, et ce, autant au moment du démarrage ou d'une restructuration qu'à celui d'un projet d'acquisition ou d'expansion. Il en ira encore de même lorsque vous atteindrez le stade de la transmission de votre entreprise à la relève ou à des tiers. Votre notaire est en mesure de vous conseiller et de vous guider dans la négociation et la mise en place de ces ententes financières.

Transfert intergénérationnel

La planification est l’élément-clé de la réussite d’un transfert intergénérationnel d’une entreprise.  Le transfert d’une entreprise à un membre de la famille ou à un employé-clé peut avoir des implications financières et fiscales importantes.  Votre notaire peut vous guider à travers les outils disponibles pour assurer un transfert efficace qui tient compte des intérêts de chacune des parties.  Chaque entreprise et chaque famille étant uniques, le transfert de l’entreprise nécessite une solution personnalisée permettant de sécuriser le fondateur de l’entreprise et d’assurer la continuité des affaires pour la relève.

Pour être conseillé adéquatement par un juriste spécialisé en droit des affaires, contactez-nous dès maintenant au 819-771-3231.

Haut de la page